My husband and I are celebrating our 11th wedding anniversary this weekend! Since I do a lot of performing at weddings, with subsequent blog posts, I thought it would be fun to write about my own wedding and the music we chose!

Of course the first question you may ask is if we had harp music – I would reply with a resounding YES (of course)! My dear harp teacher who gave me lessons from the time I began playing at age 11 until I graduated high school was the obvious choice as my wedding harpist ♥ Here is what we had:

Prelude ~ Entirely harp music as our guests were arriving. Since I was in the bride’s room nervously straightening my veil I couldn’t tell you what she played, but I’m sure it was lovely!

Processional ~ Trumpet Voluntary (Clarke) played on the trumpet and organ. Of course this piece is also a great bridal entrance with any combination or solo instrument.

Ceremony Music ~ Grow Old Along With Me (Mary Chapin Carpenter) sung by a friend and guitar. This song would be absolutely gorgeous on the harp, for those of you looking for song ideas! Listen here.

Recessional ~ Trumpet Tune (Purcell) with trumpet and organ. I have played this quite a bit on solo harp, and it makes a good Processional OR Recessional.

