One of the most beautiful verses in the Bible says, “For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under Heaven…” (Ecclesiastes 3:1). These words became truly real to me as I played this week for a funeral of a young woman not much older than I. Even though we had just met, my heart went out to the grieving family and friends gathered to remember this special person.

I was glad I was available to play on short notice for the service held at the McEwen Funeral Home in Charlotte. My part in the service was small, but I thought it really added something special. Just a few minutes before the service was to start I played Amazing Grace. Then to end the service and as everyone was filing out, I played I Can Only Imagine (Mercy Me).

No photos are available out of respect for the family.

