We’re a couple days into 2012 already, but I didn’t want to miss the chance to celebrate 2011 a little! Starting a new year always brings about some reflection, especially for sentimental souls such as myself…

First off, I’d like to congratulate all those who tied the knot in 2011, and have just rang in the first new year of their married lives! Many best wishes for the upcoming year, and as you will be celebrating your first anniversary in 2012. A high percentage of the events for which I perform are wedding ceremonies and receptions, and I consider it the highest honor to have been asked to play for all those special moments in time.

After tidying up my 2011 gig calendar, I’m happy to report that last year I performed for about 30 events. The types of events ranged from wedding ceremonies, cocktail hours, receptions,  private dinner parties, rehearsal dinners, funeral services, tea parties, church events and a datenight at Chick-fil-A to top it all off. My trusty Pontiac Vibe (which fits a pedal harp in the back without an inch to spare) jetted me off to Mooresville, NC, Rock Hill, SC and everywhere in between. About 1750 miles, all told! And of course I can’t neglect to mention the music! Reviewing my song list in 2011 would be a little like spinning the radio dial….country, classical, easy listening, heavy metal, folk, hymns, modern pop. And I wasn’t always flying solo – I also had the chance to play with vocalists and flutes.

I’m looking forward with GREAT anticipation to what 2012 has in store for me and my harp!

